Phil Mickelson made it into the headlines twice this past week for periphery golf headlines. Is there a connection between the two hot topics?
Tuesday, Lefty played a casual practice round with Tom Brady. This made headlines because most of the Patriots were at Fenway playing cornhole and such as part of their OTAs. As has been the case for this offseason, Brady has declined attending the optional activities, some of which have involved football.
Saturday, Phil grabbed the headlines with his putting exhibition on the 13th green. Realizing he had just possibly putted his ball off the green, he hurriedly putted it back uphill while it was still moving. In doing so he earned himself a two stroke penalty to go along with the viral video. Afterwards, Mickelson acknowledged the move and said he had thought about doing it before. So, what we have here is an athlete who knows the rules well enough that in a split second he makes a decision and proceeds to execute the decision to his benefit.
Hmmm, knowing the rules of the game you play and using them to your advantage. That sounds like something I’ve heard before. On a side note, here’s a pretty cool story about Lefty at Gillette hitting Righty.
Leave a Reply.
OTHER BLOGS YOU SHOULD CHECK OUT
Photo used under Creative Commons from Eric Kilby